Issue after SQL move procedure. No more WSUS Sync.


Hello,

Today we had an issue in monitoring node after SQL move has been performed ( in combination with Site restore / reset ). No more WSUS synchronisation would occur.

We had the following error : the MERGE statement attempted to UPDATE or DELETE the same row more than once…


Solution.
Link : http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/is/configmanagerdeployment/thread/b52bb6b3-f083-4251-8e81-d348b2ebae7b

1.First backup of the content of the tables that will be modified in order to be able to perform a rollback.
Open SQL management studio , create a query on the SCCM db and export the result to file.



Run the query and verify that the result is saved in a file.




Perform this action for the following tables :

CI_updatesources

SMSData

UnknownSystem_DISC

  1. We will modify the necesarry entries in order to revert to the original SMS Site GUID

Edit CI_UpdateSources table and remove the newly created entry. Verify the date and remove the newest.



Edit SMSData , Modify ThisSiteGuid to the only remaing GUID from the CI_UpdateSources table



Edit UnknownSystem_DISC, remove the rows pointing to the old GUIDs from CI_UpdateSources table. Verify using the date, remove the newest entries.


Open the registry on the site server and change the following reg key to the entry found in CI_UpdateSources table.


HKLM\Software\Microsoft\SMS\Identification\Site ID to this new version.


Start Update Synchronisation and verify that the error no longer occurs.



Verify no additional errors occur on site monitor.
Enjoy.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s