Endurance test Revolve 810


 

Hello,

Looking back I was very enthusiastic when I first recieved my HP Elitebook Revolve 810 ( 1st generation ).

This was way back in 2013 and a number ( read a lot ) of similar devices have been rolling into the market since then.

But let’s have a look at how the revolve looks now after over 3 years of intense use. And I mean intense as the device travels with me each day to a customer site and back.

The exterior :

clip_image002

-> Some edges show some chipped pieces but no “real” damage

clip_image004

-> Some minor scratches on the front due to “heavy” usage

clip_image006

-> It is still a catchy, elegant and stable device

So overall the device holds out ok.

The interior :

-> Well even according to today’s standards the device still performs ok, Windows 10 was a big improvement in terms of battery usage and even day to day operations like office perform faster compared to Windows 8.

-> I mainly use it in laptop mode, occasionally I read some items in tablet mode.

-> I use the mobile broadband connection quite a lot, the wireless projection to devices from time to time.

-> I don’t really use a stylus, somehow I prefer typing in onenote over writing with a pen.

The rest :

-> I boot using UEFI, secure boot and the device is encrypted by bitlocker.

-> For now it is Azure ad connected and I log on using my company credentials although that’s not really device related.

-> 2 available USB ports are a minimum but at certain sites I use external display, usb docking keyboard and mouse.

-> I update HP drivers and firmware regularly using HP utilities

The issues :

-> Well there were some issues with the fan. Now this is a “known” issue with this model so the fan was replaced and together with the latest chipset this has improved the spinning noise of the cooling a lot.

http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Notebook-Hardware-and-Upgrade-Questions/HP-Revolve-810-Noisy-Fan/td-p/5063770

What I would like to see added :

-> Some kind of biometric authentication ( fingerprint or Windows hello capable camera )

-> more energy efficient processor or more battery power , no matter how much battery you have you always run out at a bad time 🙂

Enjoy

Gino D

Leave a Reply

